Being injured due to the negligence of another in California can change the course of your life in an instant. The quality of life you enjoyed prior to the accident may never be regained due to pain, suffering and medical issues related to the accident. In addition, you may also suffer financially as you may miss extended time from work or you may not be able to work again due to your injuries.
According to California personal injury law you may be entitled to benefits and financial compensation for your injuries. These may include:
- Pain and suffering compensation>
- Medical expense compensation
- Lost wage compensation (both current and future)
- Funeral benefits
- Death benefits
The exact circumstances surrounding your accident will determine what benefits and forms of compensation you are entitled to. Having a skilled and experienced Orange County Personal Injury Attorney makes sense as they will handle the administrative aspect of filing your claim so you can focus on recovering. They will also make sure that you get the full, fair and just amount of compensation based on your injuries.
Liability in a California Personal Injury Case
One of the more complex tasks in a personal injury or auto accident case is determining liability. The type of accident you were involved in and where the accident took place will dictate who the liable party, or parties, are. Liable parties in Orange County accident and injury claims can be, but are not limited to:
- Other drivers (if you were in an auto accident)
- Insurance carriers
- Corporate entities
- Third parties
- Management companies
It is important to leave no stone unturned when investigating an accident or injury claim. Excluding a liable party may cause you to not get the full amount of compensation you rightfully deserve. This is another reason why it makes sense to have a skilled and experienced Santa Ana Accident Attorney on your side as they will thoroughly examine the details of your case, establish all liable parties and make them accountable for your injuries.
California Statute of Limitations in a Personal Injury Case
The state of California, as well as other states, allows for a certain amount of time to pass before you can no longer file a personal injury lawsuit. This is called the statute of limitations and the time frame varies based on the type of accident you were involved in, how you were injured, etc. The time frames are:
- Basic negligence: 2 years
- Medical malpractice – 3 years from injury or 1 year from discovery of injury (whichever occurs first)
- Product negligence – 2 years or 2 years with discovery rule
- Wrongful death – asbestos cases=1yr of (D.O.D) or from first knowing; others = 2 years of D.O.D.
- Survival – 1 year
Hire a Santa Ana Accident and Injury Attorney
Following your accident you may face a seemingly insurmountable amount of issues such as medical issues, physical pain vehicle repair, etc. You may also be approached by the liable parties insurance carrier regarding a quick and easy lump sum settlement. Do not accept this offer as it benefits them and not you or your family.
Retaining Orange County Personal Injury Lawyer Jihad Smaili behooves you as he will fight to get you the compensation you deserve. He has many years experience handling accident claims in California. While most personal injury claims culminate in a settlement Mr. Smaili is not immune to taking your case to the trial phase if a fair and just settlement cannot be negotiated on your behalf. Let him ut his skills and experience to work for you.